The Strokes return…

After a five-year break, New York City rock vets the Strokes return this spring with a new album and a fresh outlook.

For their much-anticipated fourth LP, Angles (out March 22) — check out the tracklist below! — the guys gave their songwriting dynamic a heavy-duty makeover. This time, instead of frontman Julian Casablancas leading the writing effort, each member contributed ideas — a first for quintet. “It was a completely different way of working,” bassist Nikolai Fraiture tells SPIN. “We listened to everyone’s ideas with open ears and came to collective decisions. Everyone had an opinion.”

The album title, Angles, “reflects the way the album was made,” he says. “It’s all about the different approach and the different ways these song came out.”

“Everything is great between us now that the album is done,” Fraiture says. “That’s the hardest part — seeing beyond the daily quibbles to focus on the main goal.”

Angles tracklisting:
1. Machu Picchu
2. Under Cover of Darkness
3. Two Kinds of Happiness
4. You’re So Right
5. Taken for a Fool
6. Games
7. Call Me Back
8. Gratisfaction
9. Metabolism
10. Life Is Simple in the Moonlight



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s